NewsSports News

Mithun, Agarwal lead show as Karnataka clinch Vijay Hazare title

Riding on brilliant performances from Abhimanyu Mithun (5/34) and Mayank Agarwal (69*), Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu by 60 runs through VJD Method in the final of the 2019 Vijay Hazare Trophy played at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium on Friday.

Chasing 253, Karnataka were well on course for a victory at 146/1 after 23 overs having Mayank and K.L Rahul batting on 69 and 52 respectively when rain stopped play. Umpires waited for almost 45 minutes and thereafter felt that no further play would be possible and announced Karnataka as champions. They have now won the title four times.

Earlier, Mithun became the first bowler to pick up a hat-trick in the final and helped Karnataka to restrict Tamil Nadu to 252 in 49.5 overs despite well-rounded fifties from Abhinav Mukund (85) and Baba Aparajith (66).

View more…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *