National NewsNews

Congress MPs Walk to the New Parliament Building With a Copy of the Constitution

On Tuesday, Congress MPs, including Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Rahul Gandhi, Gaurav Gogoi, Deepender Hooda, and others, walked from the old Parliament Building to the new one, carrying a copy of the Constitution. This symbolic gesture marked the transition of legislative work to the new Parliament building.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed that the old Parliament building be known as ‘Samvidhan Sadan’ to preserve its dignity and historical significance. He made this suggestion during an event in Central Hall commemorating 75 years of Parliament and highlighted the historic role played by the Central Hall, where the transfer of power took place in 1947.