NewsSouth News

Telangana Assembly Elections Witness TDP’s Absence and Pawan Kalyan’s Entry

The landscape of the 2023 Telangana Assembly elections differs from previous ones as the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) opts to abstain this time, influenced by the arrest of its leader Chandrababu Naidu. The TDP had contested in 2014 and 2018 but is staying out this election, which may impact the Congress’s chances in its duel against the ruling BRS.

Pawan Kalyan’s entry, representing Jana Sena Party (JSP), adds a twist, although he won’t contest. This development follows his alliance with TDP for Andhra Pradesh’s upcoming elections. The BJP, initially intending to go solo, enlisted Pawan Kalyan, hoping for a transfer of TDP votes to NDA. Congress anticipates a minimal impact, citing Pawan Kalyan’s 2019 performance in his home state.

The absence of Y.S. Sharmila’s YSR Telangana Party further shapes the electoral scenario, with BRS leaders preparing to invoke Telangana self-respect.