National NewsNews

141 Opposition MPs Suspended in Record-Breaking Parliament Standoff

In an unprecedented move, a total of 141 Opposition MPs have been suspended from Parliament during the ongoing session – a record-breaking number. This comes as a result of protests by MPs over the recent security breach in the Lok Sabha. Today’s suspension of 49 MPs, including prominent leaders like Farooq Abdullah, Shashi Tharoor, Karti Chidambaram, Supriya Sule, and Dimple Yadav, follows the suspension of 79 MPs yesterday.

The Opposition has been demanding a statement from Home Minister Amit Shah on the security lapse that allowed intruders into the Lok Sabha chamber last week. The Speaker has maintained that security incidents fall under the Lok Sabha secretariat’s purview, resisting central intervention. The spree of suspensions has led to concerns about the stifling of parliamentary debate and accountability.