NewsSouth News

C. Ayyannapatrudu Elected Unopposed as Andhra Assembly Speaker

C. Ayyannapatrudu of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 16th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on June 22, 2024. His election was unchallenged, with no other nominations submitted for the post.

The session saw the swearing-in of the remaining three MLAs, completing the oath of office for all 175 legislators. Notably, YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy did not attend the Assembly, as he was scheduled to visit Kadapa district. This marks a significant moment in the new legislative session.