NewsSouth News

Telangana Chief Minister KCR Files Nomination for Gajwel Assembly Constituency

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, popularly known as KCR, filed his nomination on Thursday from the Gajwel Assembly constituency for the upcoming November 30 elections. Arriving in Gajwel via helicopter from Hyderabad, the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) chief submitted his nomination at the integrated office complex.

Seeking re-election from the same constituency in Siddipet district, KCR, who was elected from Gajwel in 2014 and 2018, also filed a nomination from the Kamareddy constituency later in the day. Facing competition from BJP’s Eatala Rajender in Gajwel, KCR addressed a public meeting in the afternoon. The Congress party has yet to announce its candidate for Gajwel. In Kamareddy, KCR’s opponent is state Congress chief A. Revanth Reddy.

The Chief Minister’s filing of nomination was preceded by prayers at the Venkateswara Swamy temple in Siddipet district, continuing a tradition he observed in the past. In 2014, KCR won Gajwel by 19,391 votes, and in 2018, he secured a significant majority of 58,290 votes against his nearest rival.